Liz

Liz and her eat, pray, love. I knew her. precisely in 2008. when none knew me. when the torment can wake me up. it’s not complicated. I just feel like she feels. I like the way of life. she moves. but not change. her huge year-long journey takes after going though a truly soul-destroying divorce. During this year of soul-recovery Liz spends four months in three very different places. In Italy she seeks pleasure. In India she pursues devotion. And in Indonesia she seeks balance.

Elizabeth (-Liz) Gilbert. how she seeks each of these things in each location. It’s not a page turner in the traditional sense of the description. I won’t necessarily be so gripped by the plot that you’ll be on the edge of seat, biting my finger nails wondering what on earth is going to happen next.

Instead, I am gripped by Liz herself. I want to know what is going to happen to her. I want completely drawn into her life. I want to know what she is going to experience next because you so easily come to care about her. And it makes me want to go to each of the places she visits. eat pray love may not be great literature in the often slightly snobby sense of the word but it has spoken to millions of people across the world and famously affected its readers in a profoundly positive and uplifting way.