it’s more ambigous

Do you have experience in analyzing the interaction with friends, family or clients? how well they express their feelings with verbal and non verbal communication. now I want to tell you briefly about my experience when doing coverage of news.

There are many sections where I have to use my gender perspectives fully, both when doing reporting and in the process of writing the news. In that process I realized I should be very sensitive and learning the condition of my sources, that in fact is the women victims of violence and sexual exploitation. It means that I must be sensitive and to interpret what I see about my resource persons background. Because for me, encourage women victims of violence and sexual exploitation is not easy. Especially psychologically they are still traumatized and ashamed.

Usually, she want to tell her experiences after I assured them that I was the right person to listen to their stories. I even had several times met, so they would talk in detail. It means that I must be smart and work hard to understand the situation and condition my sources. As when she only want to tell their stories and more be open, if the conversation was only done in her private room.

So I should be able to read their reactions, then interpret whether they are ready to share her experience on the spot or not. For instance on their body language, psychological, and family condition. In human interactions, the expression and interpretation of emotions is an important part. Communicate can be either verbal and nonverbal. Nonverbal communication is more immediate, but more ambiguous than verbal communication.

According to Dale G. Leathers (1986) and Breda Major (1984) as cited by Larson (2010). Dale G. Leathers identified seven nonverbal channels, including facial expression, eye behavior, bodily communication, proxemics, personal appearance, vocal factors, and haptics or the sense of touch. Meanwhile according to communication scholar Breda Major (1984) noted significant gender differences in the way individuals touch others and receive such touches. While men tend to initiate touching in cross-gender encounters, they are likely to initiate touch in same-gender encounters. Women are more comfortable about touching other women and about touching in general. Although touch often expresses warmth and intimacy, especially among women, it can also communicate power or status relationship.

For me, what is Breda Major and Dale G. Leathers said, are very appropriate to the context of my profession.

Reference:

Larson, C. U. (2010), Persuasion: Reception and responsibility (12th ed.), Boston: Wadsworth.

Note:
This article is based of my experience, then I analyzed to my reflection paper for Persuasive Communication Course of Paramadina Graduate Schools (PGS), in major Political Communication